Municipal Directors

Gurk Dhanoa,
Town of Devon

Gurk moved to Devon in 2017 and has made an immediate impact in his community. He has had the opportunity to work and own a small business in his community, which led him to creating a great foundation for getting elected as a councillor in 2021. He actively volunteers his time as a coach with Devon Soccer Association and basketball with one of the local schools. Having worked at the likes of TD Bank, Tim Hortons and Cashco Financial led him down this path of leadership in Municipal government. He is a proud father of two daughters and celebrated his 10 year wedding anniversary in 2021.

Sally Kucher Johnson,
Parkland County

Sally Kucher Johnson has lived in Parkland County for 23 years and now serves as the Councillor for Parkland County division 1, an area between Devon and Spruce Grove. Before this role, she served for 8 years as a School Board Trustee for Parkland School Division. Her background previously was with working with youth at risk and special needs in a variety of settings. Her favourite things to do are hiking, canoeing and travelling.

Michael Janz,
City of Edmonton

Michael is a father of two, living with his partner in the Garneau neighbourhood. Prior to being elected to Edmonton City Council, Michael served as a three-term, 11 year, Edmonton Public School Board Trustee and as Board Vice-Chair, and Chair.

Michael has an extensive background in neighbourhood and community development helping neighbours turn ideas into action as Marketing Director of the Edmonton Federation of Community Leagues.

Michael has also played other leadership roles in the provincial and national non-profit sector supporting the youth mentoring movement.

Ashley Salvador,
City of Edmonton

Ashley is an urban planner and has experience working across sectors. Born and raised in Edmonton, she holds a BA Honours in Sustainability and Sociology from Dalhousie University, and a MA Planning from the University of Waterloo.

Ashley is passionate about building a healthy, equitable, and climate resilient Edmonton.
She has been active at the municipal level for close to a decade and has been a longstanding advocate for zoning reforms and sustainable urban development.

In her off time, Ashley is an avid cyclist, and enjoys hiking and cross-country skiing in Edmonton's River Valley.

Robert Parks,
Strathcona County

Robert worked in the financial services industry for almost a decade, starting in the branch network as a Financial Advisor, and later as a Branch Manager and then in Agricultural Lending Practices. After leaving the bank, Robert worked extensively with small, medium and large organizations in assisting them build their footprint and grow their business. He is actively involved with the United Way’s Tools for School Program and believes that all children deserve an equal opportunity to achieve their version of success.

Robert’s hobbies include golf in the summer and five-pin bowling in the winter.

Dan Derouin,
Sturgeon County

Councillor Dan Derouin was elected to Sturgeon County Council on October 16, 2017.

Dan was raised on the family farm, east of Gibbons, that was settled by his grandfather in 1897 and homesteaded in 1903. Dan, who has owned and operated several businesses, the last one being Tim Hortons in Fort Saskatchewan. Dan resides with his wife Susie and they have three grown daughters, and six wonderful grandchildren. Dan has been actively involved in the community and served as a firefighter with the City of Edmonton for over 30 years.

Patrick Noyen,
Fort Saskatchewan

Councillor Patrick Noyen was first elected to Council in October 2021.

Born and raised in Fort Saskatchewan, Patrick founded Prairie Fire Landscape Construction after gaining extensive work experience in the industry. He previously achieved a Bachelor of Commerce, majoring in Business Law.

Supporting local organizations and activities will always be his priority and he advocates for the success of local business and industry.

Patrick is also an accomplished violinist, swimmer, and Ukrainian dancer.


Directors at Large

Katherine O'Neill,
Board Chair, City of Edmonton
Katherine joined the YWCA Edmonton as Chief Executive Officer in March 2020. She has worked in leadership positions in communications and politics throughout her career. A writer by trade, she spent most of her journalism career working as a national correspondent with the Globe and Mail, dispatching stories from across Canada and even the dusty battlefields of Afghanistan in 2008. Katherine holds a Bachelor of Arts from Wilfrid Laurier University and a Master of Journalism from Carleton University. She lives in Edmonton close to the Mackenzie Ravine and the river valley trail system and is passionate about introducing more people to this incredible natural community resource.
Marcel Chichak,
City of Edmonton

Marcel is a Professional Engineer specializing in transportation planning, river engineering and bridge structures. He has served on volunteer boards for decades, primarily focusing on local history and historic infrastructure.

Although he retired from full time consulting, he continues to provide senior review and mentorship within the industry. In his spare time he’s an avid trail runner, marathoner and recreational cyclist.

He is the Chair of the RVA’s Implementation Committee where he contributes his extensive knowledge of river valley trails, geotechnical and river engineering.

Brad Armstrong,
Strathcona County
Brad joined the Board in April 2021. He is a member of the RVA’s Implementation Committee.
Mark McRae,
City of Edmonton
Mark joined the Board in April 2021. He is the Chair of the RVA's Finance Committee.
Nancy Thornton,
Strathcona County
Nancy joined the Board in April 2022. She is the Chair of the RVA's Governance Committee.
Ron Walker,
Treaty 6 Territory

Ron joined the Board in April 2022.

Ron Walker was born in Treaty 8 territory. He likes to say he is a son of a son of a commercial fisherman. This has taught him to appreciate wildlife and nature as his father went from place to place trying to make a living off the land. He has very recently resigned as the Executive Director of the Edmonton Friendship Centre after 7 years to focus on his true calling. Producing festivals with an emphasis on music and culture. He has had breakfast with Blue Rodeo and dinners with 3 Grammy winner Bill Miller. He focuses on community development through the arts and sport. He is a two time Canadian Masters Shot Put and Discus Champion.

Margot Ross-Graham,
City of Edmonton

Margot Ross Graham is the principal and owner of Sandbar Coaching and Consulting. Her unique ability to harness potential and talent in people and organizations, along with her keen business sense and connection to the community, make her a sought-after speaker, board director, media personality and consultant. She is a Certified Executive Coach and specializes in leadership, integration, strategic planning, board evaluations and interim executive solutions. Margot lives steps away from the river valley and can be found any day of the week exploring everything it has to offer.

Margot joined the Board in April 2021. She is the Chair of the RVA's Trail Naming Committee.

Bryan Karbonik, Interim CEC Chair,
Strathcona County
Bryan joined the Board in October 2022. He is the Interim Chair of the Community Engagement Committee.